Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Bird Song Into So Lucky | 6.15.2024

Bird Song into So Lucky | a classic Grateful Dead cover into one of my originals, performed at The Camp Store, South Carlsbad State Beach Carlsbad, CA

This is the first song of the set after sound check. I had some issues with the PA, the vocal levels especially (too hot/clipping) which were fixed in a brief intermission between songs. Such is live sound.

Musicians | The Camp Store Carlsbad, CA | 6.15.2023

  • Dan Greenbaum

  • Aaron Brownwood

  • Mike Hunt

  • Mark ODonnell

  • Mike Pritchard

Lyrics

Bird Song
Jerome J. Garcia / Robert C. Hunter
All I know is something like a bird within her sang
All I know she sang a little while and then flew on

Tell me all that you know
I’ll show you, snow and rain

If you hear that same sweet song again will you know why?
Anyone who sings a tune so sweet is passin’ by

Laugh in the sunshine, sing
Cry in the dark, fly through the night

Don’t cry now, don’t you cry
Don’t you cry anymore, la, la, la, la
Sleep in the stars, don’t you cry
Dry your eyes on the wind, la, la, la, la

So Lucky
I got an ache, I got a feeling
Want to meet in the street tomorrow
Had ENOUGH, being Locked up inside today
Let the golden sun, shine down, cast our shadows
You want anything, babe, you can have your way

And as we wade into the evening
City lights are gonna shine
Choose to use a little hustle
Let the city do our bidding tonight

Come what may
Nothing to lose, but to choose, do or die, win or lose
No Excuse, let's put these hearts to good use
What if all hell breaks loose
We should be so lucky
So LUCKY, So LUCKY, my babe, she get me HIGH
3rd street, 3rd street, got to find my baby on 3rd street

Need a new change of clothes
Hug the curb real close past drug slinging rogues
Packing so much heat, no need to die today
Hope to make some time, hop off the subway line
Walking east to west, up from 125th
When I see you, pretty babe, gonna make my day

And as we wade into the evening
City lights are gonna shine
Choose to use a little hustle
Let the city do our bidding tonight

Come what may
Nothing to lose, but to choose, do or die, win or lose
No Excuse, let's put these hearts to good use
What if all hell breaks loose
We should be so lucky
So LUCKY, So LUCKY, my babe, she get me HIGH
3rd street, 3rd street, got to find my baby on 3rd street

I got an ache, I got a feeling, won't leave the bed till tomorrow
I got my love right here in our birthday suits today
Let the golden sun, shine down, cast our shadows
You want anything, babe, you can have your way

And as we wade into the evening
City lights are gonna shine
Choose to use a little hustle
Let the city do our bidding tonight

Come what may
Nothing to lose, but to choose, do or die, win or lose
No Excuse, let's put these hearts to good use
What if all hell breaks loose
We should be so lucky
So LUCKY, So LUCKY, my babe, she get me HIGH
3rd street, 3rd street, got to find my baby on 3rd street

About the Song
Bird Song is one of my favorite jams off or Jerry Garcia’s first album, Garcia. The week before we were practicing, and because I arrange my setlist by song keys, we decided to dance in and out of Bird Song, and my original So Lucky as they both live in the same key

So Lucky is yet another homage to NYC. Some of my fondest memories were meeting friends in the summer months up at Grant’s Tomb. I lived at the bottom of the hill on 123rd Street in between Morningside and Manhattan. As you walked out of my apartment, you could see Grant’s Tomb up on top of the hill. So many memories. It’s also one of my all time favorite songs to sing and play. I love Dan’s bass line, Mikes beat, and when Mike Pritchard is playing, his keyboard gymnastics.

About the Day
Days rarely get any better than these. It was a fine June Saturday in Carlsbad, California and it was a perfect way to say goodby to family, friends, and the band. In a few days I would be gone: flying off to Greece for the remainder of the month, then coming back stateside for a family reunion in Upstate New York.

My oldest just graduated Carlsbad High, kids were out in numbers, the summer was in full effect. Everyone was out in full force. To meet the crowd, we had a bunch of new material. We played 4 songs that we had never really played as arranged that night before, but we were feeling it. We had just finished programming the new Nord Stage 4 we picked up of the keyboard player, Mike Pritchard. Thus the reason why the keys sound like an interstellar spaceship.


About the Ram
Mark "The Ram" O'Donnell is an independent American composer, producer, filmmaker, multi-instrumental performer, designer, and visual artist based out of Carlsbad, California. He performs original, surf-inspired rock-and-roll music on the West Coast.

For more information about the Ram and his music, go to www.TheRamMusic.com

For anything tied to the Latest release: September 27, “Space Cowboy”
Official Music Video
Space Cowboy: Design Behind the Music
Making the Space Cowboy Music Video

To view the Ram’s latest release on all streaming platforms:
https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/theram2/space-cowboy

Did you Know
If you liked the Ram’s approach to covering music of the Grateful Dead, consider listening to his released version of Me & My Uncle and other songs on ‘Ram’s Dead, Vol. 1’, available on all streaming platforms.

Song Metadata
So Lucky
The Ram
UPC: 196512160483
IRSC: QZNWZ2195615
Release date: December 24, 2021
ASCAP Work ID: 914350006
ASCAP Singer Songwriter IPI Number: 375350750
ASCAP Publisher IPI Number:  375351159

I currently use DistroKid to get everything out to the streaming platforms, Disco for all sync requests, Bands In Town to list live shows, and Substack for just about everything else.

Share The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow

The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow is a reader-supported subscription based publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

The Ram: Saltwater & Music
The Ram: Saltwater & Music
Musings on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Each show is about my friends and I playing original music on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. The rest of my Substack is based on on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Overcast
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
The Ram