Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Me & My Uncle | 9.8.2023

Me & My Uncle | a classic Grateful Dead cover performed at The Camp Store, South Carlsbad State Beach Carlsbad, CA

Musicians | The Camp Store Carlsbad, CA | 9.8.2023

  • Dan Greenbaum

  • Aaron Brownwood

  • Mike Hunt

  • Mark ODonnell

  • Mike Pritchard


Lyrics

Me and my uncle went ridin' down
To South Colorado, West Texas bound
We stopped over in Santa Fe
That day on the pony, just about halfway
And you know it was the hottest part of the day

And I took the horses up to the stall
Went to the barroom, ordered drinks for all
Three days in the saddle, you know my body hurt
It being summer, I took off my shirt
And I tried to wash off some of that dusty dirt

West Texas cowboys, they was all around
Wheat, liquor and money, they loaded down
So soon after payday, no, it seemed a shame
You know my uncle, he starts playin' the game
Hey now, high-low jack and the winner take the hand

My uncle start winning, the cowboys got sore
One of them called him, and then two more
Accused him of cheatin', oh no, it couldn't be
I know my uncle, he's as honest as me
Hey now, I'm as honest as a Denver man can be, that's right

One of them cowboys, he starts to draw
And I shot him down, Lord, he never saw
Shot me another, hot damn, he won't grow old
In the confusion, my uncle grabbed the gold
And we hightail it down to Mexico

Now I love those cowboys, I love their gold
Love my uncle, God rest his soul
Taught me good, Lord, taught me all I know
Taught me so well, that I grabbed that gold
I left his dead ass there by the side of the road, yeah


About the Day
September 8 was a classic California Indian Summer afternoon. It provided sweltering heat, Santa Ana winds, perfect surf. By the time I had all the equipment set up, I thought I was going to melt onto the stage. Throughout the show surfers and beachgoers came up the stairs, through the pentagon, to be treated with our band’s newly released music.

The full band was in top form from a packed summer of gigging, and I was in great shape (with great singing lungs) minus the knee pains that plagued me just a few months later. So often the show, the performance is enhanced by those in attendance. Some of my closest friends were there that day.

When I listened to the tapes of this show, the magic is undeniable.

You can see the locals moving in and out of the landscape, the Captain Kenos hat is worn my my brother in arms Mr. Able Perez, he’s an unofficial member of the band. When I first started writing, he was on bass. I think my favorite performance that night was ‘Come Easily’, it was as good that night as I’ve ever heard it played. A few weeks after, when I listened to the tapes of this show, the magic is undeniable.


About the Ram
Mark "The Ram" O'Donnell is an independent American composer, producer, filmmaker, multi-instrumental performer, designer, and visual artist based out of Carlsbad, California. He performs original, surf-inspired rock-and-roll music on the West Coast.

For more information about the Ram and his music, go to www.TheRamMusic.com

To view the Ram’s latest release on all streaming platforms:
https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/theram2/everything

Did you Know
If you liked the Ram’s approach to covering music of the Grateful Dead, consider listening to his released version of Me & My Uncle and other songs on ‘Ram’s Dead, Vol. 1’, available on all streaming platforms.

Song Metadata
Me & My Uncle | The Ram’s Dead, Vol. 1
The Ram
UPC: 197994327401
IRSC: QZRP52378915
Release date: November 17, 2023

Share The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow

The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow is a reader-supported subscription based publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment


Discussion about this podcast

The Ram: Saltwater & Music
The Ram: Saltwater & Music
Musings on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Each show is about my friends and I playing original music on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. The rest of my Substack is based on on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Overcast
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed