Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

New Day Dawn | 6.15.2024

New Day Dawn | released 7.1.2022 | performed at The Camp Store, South Carlsbad State Beach Carlsbad, CA

Happy Saturday, here’s a little something for your listening pleasure. This video has a rough audio mix, but I just had this show mixed and mastered properly by my buddy Tommy. Looking at putting some of the songs from this show on a live album in 2025.

Musicians | The Camp Store Carlsbad, CA | 6.15.2023

  • Dan Greenbaum

  • Aaron Brownwood

  • Mike Hunt

  • Mark ODonnell

  • Mike Pritchard

Lyrics
Ain’t no right ain’t no wrong when you sit and watch a new day dawn
Ain’t no wrong ain’t no right been sittin’ since the dark of night
Walked myself to the edge of town
Made damn sure no one follow me down
Yes and to keep myself a little company
W
ell I gotta little hipper from the whiskey family

But it don’t, no it don’t, yes it don’t
Matter much anyway
All alone, all alone, one and only
Help me get my thinking straight

Just cut the cable and the TV screen just a rabid dog barking back at me
So many voices chiming through my head can’t put a face to the words just said
Get more listening to the wind and rain
r the rumble of a diesel train
Cause a mans a man and a facts a fact, b
But those are lies and we can’t be lied to like that

But it don’t, no it don’t, yes it don’t
Matter much anyway
All alone, all alone, one and only
Help me get my thinking straight

You cant tell a lie through a song and expect folks to listen all that long
Guitar note catch a breeze and off it go, and whos gonna catch em I don’t know
Way over top a voice gonna hit that note
and you know it’s coming from a blueman’s throat.
Thats my version of a TV screen,
you see it don’t have to be all obscene.

But it don’t, no it don’t, yes it don’t
Matter much anyway
All alone, all alone, one and only
Help me get my thinking straight

About the Song
One morning in Upstate New York found me on a rooftop drinking a little wine, and smoking some weed with the surviving members of a party from the night before. It was the day my cousin Salty graduated college by Lake Seneca in western New York State.

Ain’t no right, ain’t no wrong, when you sit and watch a new day dawn!

Visiting any college town was always an irresistible proposition during the years I went to university. Each college town was a new group of people of the same age group, making something out of nothing. Little else mattered back then. Every time I sing this song I laugh about the policeman who tried to talk us down from that roof. First threatening us, almost slipping off himself, then cussing us as he departed into his frustrated morning duties of crushing doughnuts.

About the Day
Days rarely get any better than these. It was a fine June Saturday in Carlsbad, California and it was a perfect way to say goodby to family, friends, and the band. In a few days I would be gone: flying off to Greece for the remainder of the month, then coming back stateside for a family reunion in Upstate New York.

My oldest just graduated Carlsbad High, kids were out in numbers, the summer was in full effect. Everyone was out in full force. To meet the crowd, we had a bunch of new material. We played 4 songs that we had never really played as arranged that night before, but we were feeling it. We had just finished programming the new Nord Stage 4 we picked up of the keyboard player, Mike Pritchard. Thus the reason why the keys sound like an interstellar spaceship.

About the Ram
Mark "The Ram" O'Donnell is an independent American composer, producer, filmmaker, multi-instrumental performer, designer, and visual artist based out of Carlsbad, California. He performs original, surf-inspired rock-and-roll music on the West Coast.

For more information about the Ram and his music, go to www.TheRamMusic.com

For anything tied to the Latest release: September 27, “Space Cowboy”
Official Music Video
Space Cowboy: Design Behind the Music
Making the Space Cowboy Music Video

To view the Ram’s latest release on all streaming platforms:
https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/theram2/space-cowboy

Song Metadata
New Day Dawn
The Ram
UPC: 196864168335
ISRC: QZHNC2213764
Release date: October 20, 2023
ASCAP Work ID: 916553332
ASCAP Singer Songwriter IPI Number: 375350750
ASCAP Publisher IPI Number:  375351159

I currently use DistroKid to get everything out to the streaming platforms, Disco for all sync requests, Bands In Town to list live shows, and Substack for just about everything else.

Share The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow

The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow is a reader-supported subscription based publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

The Ram: Saltwater & Music
The Ram: Saltwater & Music
Musings on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Each show is about my friends and I playing original music on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. The rest of my Substack is based on on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Overcast
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
The Ram