Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Ragtop Car | 5.26.2023

Ragtop Car | released 8.19.2022 | performed at 1st Street Bar Encinitas, CA

Musicians | 1st Street Bar Encinitas, CA | 5.26.2023

  • Dan Greenbaum

  • Mike Hunt

  • Mark ODonnell

  • Mike Pritchard

Lyrics
Some say that the love of the wanderlust
Is just a life that won’t amount to much,
A man born with rambling shoes
Is just another man born to loose
I want to set the record straight
Before I hit the road today

Got a ragtop car, enough gas to take us far
Enough away, cause I plan to drive all-day
When the evening comes

We’ll be like loaded guns
Out in the night shooting stars out the sky, baby

When the blue sky’s lost in a concrete maze
I get the feeling, I wanna get lost for days
Lace up my rambling shoes
Get a chance to beat the 3rd street blues
Race up the Taconic Parkway
Drive until the break of Day

Make a love stop along the way

Got a ragtop car, enough gas to take us far
Enough away, cause I plan to drive all-day
When the evening comes

We’ll be like loaded guns
Out in the night shooting stars out the sky, baby

I got myself a roady in my hand
Talking Pabst Blue ribbon, in a can
I’m not trying to be tough

Just priming up the motor of love
Gotta loosen up 
Here come my baby struttin’ that stuff.

Got a ragtop car, enough gas to take us far
Enough away, cause I plan to drive all-day
When the evening comes

We’ll be like loaded guns
Out in the night shooting stars out the sky, baby

About the Song
Ragtop Car is the last of a series of songs recorded in the spring of 2022 in a studio-live setting with minimal overdubs. We played the song two times back to back. The extended take was the second take where we stretched our legs a bit and explored some ideas while jamming the song out. Our normal tracking workflow leaves the drums & bass untouched, then we sparingly overdub the rest to achieve a sound true to our live performances. No click tracks were used, no quantization, just a legendary local drummer, Mike Hunt whom I played with years ago in another band. Local San Diego musician and engineer, Mike Butler takes care of the mixing and mastering.


About the Day
In a previous life, my friends and I got together, formed a band, and shared the bill with the legendary Witches Tit. We played a bunch of shows over the course of a few years from Solana Beach, Encinitas, to the Redlands. At the time, I lived near D Street and surfed the area’s local breaks. Our regular haunt was First Street Bar in Encinitas, CA.

It’s the same stage I performed my first original songs. Flash forward to this show, the night before I scoped out the sound man Isik (cool guy, drives an Ambulance), saw that he had the same PA that I own, so I asked what I needed to bring, and if we could record the following night. He agreed, all was cool, so I went out, had a tri tip sandwich and smoked a mini jay with the owner of the food truck out front. Good times.

We didn’t promote this night’s gig too widely as it was a warm up for another night on the weekend. To our pleasant surprise, the entire crowd (friends, family, neighbors) from the Camp Store came down and partied hard. Ended up a big night after we played down at the Roxy. I think I had just gotten that cream SG Custom Shop, huge tone.



About the Ram
Mark "The Ram" O'Donnell is an independent American composer, producer, filmmaker, multi-instrumental performer, designer, and visual artist based out of Carlsbad, California. He performs original, surf-inspired rock-and-roll music on the West Coast.

For more information about the Ram and his music, go to www.TheRamMusic.com

To view the Ram’s latest release on all streaming platforms:
https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/theram2/everything

Song Metadata
Ragtop Car
The Ram
UPC: 197085038087
IRSC: QZMEP2297687
Release date: August 19, 2022
ASCAP Work ID: 920728953
ASCAP Singer Songwriter IPI Number: 375350750
ASCAP Publisher IPI Number:  375351159

Share The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow

The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow is a reader-supported subscription based publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

The Ram: Saltwater & Music
The Ram: Saltwater & Music
Musings on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Each show is about my friends and I playing original music on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. The rest of my Substack is based on on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Overcast
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed