Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

So Lucky | 9.8.2023

So Lucky | released 12.24.2021 | performed at The Camp Store, South Carlsbad State Beach Carlsbad, CA

Musicians | The Camp Store Carlsbad, CA | 9.8.2023

  • Dan Greenbaum

  • Aaron Brownwood

  • Mike Hunt

  • Sarah Medley

  • Mark ODonnell

  • Mike Pritchard

Lyrics
I got an itch I got a feeling, wanna meet in the street tomorrow
Had ENOUGH, being Locked up IN-SIDE today
Let the golden sun shine down, cast our shadows
You want anything, babe, you can have your way

And as we wade into the evening city lights are gonna shine
Choose to use a little hustle Let the city do our bidding tonight
Come what may, nothing to lose, but to choose, do or die, win or lose
No Excuse, just get loose  What if all hell breaks loose?
We should be so lucky
So LUCKY, my babe, she get me HIGH
3rd st, 3rd st
, got to find my baby on 3rd st

Need a new change of clothes, hug the curb real close past drug slingin’ rouges
Packing so much heat, no no need to die today
Hope to make some time, hop off the subway line
Walking east to west, hu-up from 125th
When I see you, pretty babe, gonna make my day

And as we wade into the evening city lights are gonna shine
Choose to use a little hustle Let the city do our bidding tonight
Come what may, nothing to lose, but to choose, do or die, win or lose
No Excuse, just get loose  What if all hell breaks loose?
We should be so lucky
So LUCKY, my babe, she get me HIGH
3rd st, 3rd st
, got to find my baby on 3rd st

I got an itch I got a feeling, won’t leave the bed till tomorrow
I got my love right here in our birthday suits today
Let the golden sun shine down, cast our shadows
You want anything, babe, you can have your way

And as we wade into the evening city lights are gonna shine
Choose to use a little hustle Let the city do our bidding tonight
Come what may, nothing to lose, but to choose, do or die, win or lose
No Excuse, just get loose  What if all hell breaks loose?
We should be so lucky
So LUCKY, my babe, she get me HIGH
3rd st, 3rd st
, got to find my baby on 3rd st


About the Song

So Lucky is yet another homage to NYC. Some of my fondest memories were meeting friends in the summer months up at Grant’s Tomb. I lived at the bottom of the hill on 123rd Street in between Morningside and Manhattan. As you walked out of my apartment, you could see Grant’s Tomb up on top of the hill. So many memories. It’s also one of my all time favorite songs to sing and play. I love Dan’s bass line, Mikes beat, and when Mike Pritchard is playing, his keyboard gymnastics.


About the Day
September 8 was a classic California Indian Summer afternoon. It provided sweltering heat, Santa Ana winds, perfect surf. By the time I had all the equipment set up, I thought I was going to melt onto the stage. Throughout the show surfers and beachgoers came up the stairs, through the pentagon, to be treated with our band’s newly released music.

The full band was in top form from a packed summer of gigging, and I was in great shape (with great singing lungs) minus the knee pains that plagued me just a few months later. So often the show, the performance is enhanced by those in attendance. Some of my closest friends were there that day.

When I listened to the tapes of this show, the magic is undeniable.

You can see the locals moving in and out of the landscape, the Captain Kenos hat is worn my my brother in arms Mr. Able Perez, he’s an unofficial member of the band. When I first started writing, he was on bass. I think my favorite performance that night was ‘Come Easily’, it was as good that night as I’ve ever heard it played. A few weeks after, when I listened to the tapes of this show, the magic is undeniable.


About the Ram
Mark "The Ram" O'Donnell is an independent American composer, producer, filmmaker, multi-instrumental performer, designer, and visual artist based out of Carlsbad, California. He performs original, surf-inspired rock-and-roll music on the West Coast.

For more information about the Ram and his music, go to www.TheRamMusic.com

To view the Ram’s latest release on all streaming platforms:
https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/theram2/everything

Song Metadata
So Lucky
The Ram
UPC: 196512160483
IRSC: QZNWZ2195615
Release date: December 24, 2021
ASCAP Work ID: 914350006
ASCAP Singer Songwriter IPI Number: 375350750
ASCAP Publisher IPI Number:  375351159

Share The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow

The Ram: Art, Music, Saltwater, & Snow is a reader-supported subscription based publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

The Ram: Saltwater & Music
The Ram: Saltwater & Music
Musings on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Each show is about my friends and I playing original music on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. The rest of my Substack is based on on surfing, songwriting, making art, home recording, performing, musical instruments, and life in general.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Overcast
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
The Ram